top of page

Why Setting Choices Matter?

by Kailah Ensley


“Places are never just places in a piece of writing. If they are, the author has failed. Setting is not inert. It is activated by point of view.” -Carmen Maria Machado, In the Dream House (emphasis added)


When I say the words “dewy landscape”, what setting does that suggest? What location do those simple words transport you to? A pasture bathed in the early morning light? A field of lavender lightly touched by the first rays of sunshine? The sky is the limit, right?


The setting is one of the most subtly important concepts that you will find in writing. Dynamic characters, action, and dialogue are crucial, of course. But where would our characters be without their environment? Where would the story’s action take place?


It doesn’t matter what type of writing you do. Settings will always be a key factor. It’s up to you to decide how large a role setting will play in your story.



I use locations as important tools in my writing. I once heard it said that if something does not shed light on your character or move the story forward, it is not necessary to expand upon it. Because of this, I put setting on a high pedestal, and approach its use cautiously.


I use a setting to illuminate where my characters’ backgrounds or where they will be going. The action in my stories takes place in carefully selected locations. I often use scenery as an allegory of an aspect of my characters’ personalities that I would rather not expand on with words.


Earlier I mentioned that the choice of how you use the setting is yours. You can use this symbolically—the same way I do—or you can use it in your unique way.



Maybe you are from a small town in Iowa and would like to incorporate your childhood experiences in your story. Perhaps your mother was born in Dubai, and her background influences your family’s culture and your point of view as a writer.


In my opinion, how you use this detail is not as important as why you use it. Whether you are writing a memoir or became captivated by a location that you visited once, the emotion with which you approach the use of setting will have a powerful influence on your work.


Embrace this writing tool. With effective use, the right setting can take your work to new heights.

bottom of page